Sovereign Grace

I was able to attend part of a men’s conference last weekend in central Louisiana. Though I didn’t get to stay for the entire event, I was reminded of God’s sovereignty and care in that short span of time, and I left a little more in love with Jesus than when I arrived.

I rolled into Tall Timbers Baptist Conference Center Friday evening right after the first session had ended, and I rolled out right before the evening session on Saturday began. In that time, however, I was blessed with a bed when I was originally going to be sleeping on the floor (huge praise), I got to see the current NSU BCM crew (which was a completely unexpected meeting), I got to spend some quality time with God outside (much needed), and I got some practice in throwing a spear (awesome). And, throughout each of these events, I got to know some great men of faith, men who love the Lord unashamedly and who are passionate about the kingdom. Though these things may not seem like much, they were little signs of God’s sovereign grace in my life, of his working through simple, ordinary things to show himself as glorious and good.

God is sovereign. When I think about that fact, I often think of the “big picture.” In other words, I consider God’s sovereignty over history, him working his will throughout any situation. I think about the plagues of Egypt that showed his power over any manmade God, and I think about the death, burial, and resurrection of Jesus that brings salvation to sinful men. I consider the ways that God works all things for his good purposes, and I call to mind the numerous texts of Scripture where God shows how his plan is accomplished in all things.

I often fail to remember, though, that God is sovereign over even the small things. I often quote Paul where he writes,

And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.
Romans 8:28

This is a great truth, but, again, I often forget that “all” here really does mean “all.” As I reflect on his grace last weekend, I am reminded of the words of James, as he writes,

Do not be deceived, my beloved brothers. Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.
James 1:16-17

The truth is that God is not just sovereign; he is also good. Every good gift is from him. His blessings may be large or small, ranging from the greatest gift of salvation to the small blessing of king cake. But every good gift finds its source in him. Paul writes of God’s grace in Romans 8, continuing on to argue that God will “graciously give us all things” that we have need of as we seek to do his will (Romans 8:32). He sovereignly works through our circumstances to lead us in his will and to call our attention back to him (a trend I can see evident in my life as I look back on the various ways he has led me).

So I encourage you to consider your life. Look for the ways God has shown his sovereignty in your life, and ask him for eyes to see his guidance. Think about the blessings he has given, and consider the grace he has shown to you. He is the sovereign God, the source of every good and perfect gift. And each of his gifts calls us to worship, for every gift points back to him as the Giver. May his name be lifted higher.

Feedback?

